National Music Centre wins three 2019 Western Canadian Music Awards

October 09, 2019

The National Music Centre (NMC) took home three 2019 Western Canadian Music Awards for Community Excellence, Impact in Artist Development, and Impact in Music Marketing.

The awards were doled out at an industry reception in Whitehorse, Yukon Territory on October 5, 2019 during the BreakOut West music conference and festival.

These awards are the result of the inspiring work being done every day at NMC through exhibitions that celebrate and preserve the story of music in Canada, artist residencies that allow the use of NMC’s unprecedented collection of musical instruments and recording equipment, education programs that encourage learning through music, and NMC’s role in marketing Calgary as an emerging music-friendly city alongside our many tourism and cultural partners.

NMC is grateful to be recognized by the Western Canadian music industry, and thankful to all of the community partners who help us elevate the power of music every day.

Below is the full list of 2019 winners and nominees.


Blues Artist of the Year:

Brandon Isaak – BC
David Gogo – BC
Jack Semple – SK
James Buddy Rogers – BC
Ndidi O – BC

BreakOut Artist of the Year:

Dan Mangan – BC
Foxwarren – SK
Nuela Charles – AB
Snotty Nose Rez Kids – BC
Striker – AB

Children’s Artist of the Year:

Ginalina – BC
Raffi – BC
Rattle and Strum – AB
Seanster and the Monsters – MB
The Oot n’ Oots – BC

Classical Artist / Ensemble of the Year (Sponsored by Canadian Music Centre [CMC]):

Land’s End Ensemble – AB
Turning Point Ensemble – BC
Manitoba Chamber Orchestra – MB
Vancouver Chamber Choir – BC
Carmen Braden – NT

Classical Composer of the Year:

Allan Gordon Bell – AB
Carmen Braden – NT
Farshid Samandari – BC
Laurie Radford – AB
Owen Underhill – BC

Country Artist of the Year:

Aaron Pritchett – BC
Brett Kissel – AB
Dan Davidson – AB
George Canyon – AB
Hunter Brothers – SK

Electronic / Dance Artist of the Year:

Dirty Radio – BC
Humans – BC
I M U R – BC
Soulier – AB
Talltale – AB

Francophone Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique [APCM]):

Alpha Toshineza – MB
Ponteix – SK
Rayannah – MB
Shawn Jobin – SK
Vaero – SK

Indigenous Artist of the Year:

Carsen Gray – BC
Digawolf – NT
Diyet & the Love Soldiers – YT
Hellnback – MB
Northern Haze – NV

Instrumental Artist of the Year:

Apollo Suns – MB
Five Alarm Funk – BC
Gordon Grdina’s The Marrow – BC
Signs & Letters – AB
West of Mabou – SK

Jazz Artist of the Year:

Al Muirhead – SK
BC Double Quartet – BC
Hard Rubber Orchestra – BC
Jodi Proznick – BC
Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra – MB

Metal / Hard Music Artist of the Year:

Hunting Giants – BC
Neck of the Woods – BC
Shooting Guns – SK
Striker – AB
tunic – MB

Pop Artist of the Year:

Begonia – MB
Jill Barber – BC
Madison Olds – BC
Royal Canoe – MB
Sarah MacDougall – YT

Rap / Hip Hop Artist of the Year:

Alpha Toshineza – MB
Bdice – BC
Merkules – BC
Snak the Ripper – BC
Vials – BC

Rock Artist of the Year (Sponsored by Stingray Music):

Dan Mangan – BC
Foxwarren – SK
Digawolf – NT
Said The Whale – BC
The Sheepdogs – SK

Roots Duo / Group of the Year:

Carmanah – BC
GhostBoy – AB
Pharis & Jason Romero – BC
Rosie & the Riveters – SK
Tri-Continental – AB / BC

Roots Solo Artist of the Year:

Belle Plaine – SK
Joe Nolan – AB
John Wort Hannam – AB
Mariel Buckley – AB
Micah Erenberg – MB

Songwriter(s) of the Year (Sponsored by The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada [SOCAN]):

Dan Mangan, Cold In The Summer – BC
Jill Barber and Ryan Guldemond. Girl’s Gotta Do – BC
Mariel Buckley, Rose Coloured Frames – AB
Pharis Romero – Pharis & Jason Romero, Sweet Old Religion – BC
Roman Clarke, Waiting – MB

Spiritual Artist of the Year:

Chelsea Amber – BC
Kyle Church – AB
Warren Dean Flandez – BC
West of Here – AB

Urban Artist of the Year:

Hooper Turnt Sanger – BC
Samurai Champs – SK
Tiny Havoc – BC

Visual Media Composer of the Year:

Brett Elliot – Church of Zombie, Welcome to the Church – YT
Burnett/Schmidt, Reawaken (Movements I-V) – AB
Jared Robinson, Canadian Mental Health Association 100 Year Anniversary – SK
Jeffery Straker, The Storm Orchestral – SK
Tim Brown, Run for Your Life – AB

World Artist of the Year:

Buckman Coe – BC
Montuno West – AB
Portiia – BC
Ryan Timoffee – AB


Audio Engineering Award:

Ben Kaplan, Fader Mountain Sound – BC
Scott Franchuk, Riverdale Recorders – AB
Sheldon Zaharko, Zed Productions – BC
Spencer Cheyne, OCL Studios – AB
Steve Bays – BC

Community Excellence Award:

National Music Centre – AB
The Dungarees – 24 Hour Gigathon – AB
The Park Show – BC
The Village Idiots – MB
West End Cultural Centre – MB

Excellence in Visual Design:

Bronwin Parks – Feisty Creative – BC
Chris Morin – SK
Jadyn Klassen – MB
Roberta Landreth – MB
Shalom Toy – Cosmic Cavern Design – AB

Impact in Artist Development:

Dan Mangan, Arts & Crafts Productions – BC
Jessica Marsh, JAM Music Mgmt – AB
National Music Centre – AB
Paquin Artists Agency – MB
The Feldman Agency – BC

Impact in Live Music:

Adam Oppenheim – Stampede Entertainment Inc. – AB
Dan Mangan – Arts & Crafts Productions – BC
Paquin Artists Agency – MB
West End Cultural Centre – MB
Winnipeg Folk Festival – MB

Impact in Music Marketing:

Matt Olah – Calgary Folk Fest / Soaring Eagle Records – AB
National Music Centre – AB
The Village Idiots – MB
West End Cultural Centre – MB
Winnipeg Folk Festival – MB

Producer of the Year:

Ben Kaplan, Fader Mountain Sound – BC
Madeleine Roger & Lloyd Peterson – MB
Rayannah & Mario Lepage – MB / SK
Ryan Worsley, Echoplant Sound – BC
Steve Bays – BC

Recording of the Year:

Dan Mangan – BC
Foxwarren – SK
Jill Barber – BC
Pharis & Jason Romero – BC
Sarah MacDougall – YT

Video Director of the Year:

Danie Easton – Madison Olds, Thank You – BC
Eric Peterson – Yes We Mystic, Young Evil – MB
Johnny Jansen – Said The Whale, UnAmerican – BC
Peter Ricq – Humans, Breakfast With Liz – BC
Travis Nesbitt – The Dungarees, Don’t Hold Back – AB

The National Music Centre Mailing List

Subscribe to receive news, updates and special promotions.